Where the Crawdads Sing

Version: Unabridged
Author: Delia Owens
Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Genres: Fiction & Literature
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Published In: April 2019
# of Units: 10 CDs
Length: 10 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

'I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!'--Reese Witherspoon

'Painfully beautiful.'--The New York Times Book Review

'Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.'--Bustle

For years, rumors of the 'Marsh Girl' have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews (155)

0

Written by Debra B. on September 20th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

A REALLY GOOD listen.

Written by Ketsarin H. on September 18th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

well and beautiful written.

Written by Bridget C. on September 15th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

omg, wonderful,wonderful book. My heart....it broke for Kya so many times but her strength and perseverance made me admire her more....

0

Written by Karen B. on September 14th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Brilliant, evocative, sensitive story! I absolutely loved this book and was captivated by Kiya’s plight, her resilience and the gentle kindnesses shown throughout. The author’s beautiful use of language, whether conveying the interactions of her characters, the silent habits of wildlife, or the movements of a small boat through the water captured my attention and my heart. A classic!

Written by Nancy T. on September 13th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Exquisite!

0

Written by Jennifer O. on September 12th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This is one of those books that is so good it takes over your life because I couldn't stop listening. It was heart wrenching and heart warning all in one. Loved every minute of it

Written by Dorothy B. on September 11th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

Looked forward to my morning walk just to listen...pure enjoyment.

Written by Maureen B. on September 5th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This is a wonderful novel. Really enjoy the characters and setting.

0

Written by Linda B. on September 3rd, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

One of the best books I’ve read in a long time! Painful subjects at times but also filled with young love for each other, self and nature. So eloquently written and narration was fantastic. Recommend to everyone!

Written by Sarah T. on August 31st, 2019

  • Book Rating: 4/5

This story is ok, but I can’t see how it has been at the top of the bestseller list. The narrator was awful! I stopped listening after a few hours and will get the hardcover from the library.