Oh! to Be in England: The Larkin Novels, Volume 4

Version: Unabridged
Author: H. E. Bates
Narrator: Philip Franks
Genres: Fiction & Literature, Classics
Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks
Published In: November 2016
Length: 1 hour
Tell Your Friends:


In this third sequel to The Darling Buds of May, Charley and Mariette decide to get baby Blenheim christened, leading to a wholesale christening of all seven of the Larkin children. Chaos abounds as the vicar Mr Candy is run ragged by the naughty twins Zinnia and Petunia, and finds himself the object of desire for Pop's second eldest, Primrose. To top it all off, Pop buys a fairground on a whim, and Mlle DuPont arrives to discover that Pop is not a Lord, nor does he live in a mansion. The result is a celebratory ending and a wonderful tribute to Pop's beloved countryside, with its 'nightingales and blackbirds, bluebells and primroses, hay-time and high summer'. "Perfick."

Author Details

Author Details

Bates, H. E.

H. E. Bates (1905-1974) was born in Rushden, Northamptonshire. Before becoming a writer, he worked as a reporter and a warehouse clerk. He is best known for his works Love for Lydia, The Darling Buds of May, and My Uncle Silas, all of which have been adapted for television or film.