Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)

Version: Unabridged
Author: Min Jin Lee
Narrator: Allison Hiroto
Genres: Fiction & Literature, Literature
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Published In: February 2017
# of Units: 16 CDs
Length: 16 hours, 39 minutes
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

Publisher Marketing: A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.
Profoundly moving and gracefully told, PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.
So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Author Details

Author Details

Lee, Min Jin

Min Jin Lee went to Yale, where she was awarded both the Wright Prize for Nonfiction and the Veech Prize for Fiction. Her work has also been featured on NPR's Selected Shorts and anthologized in To Be Real (Doubleday, 1995) and Breeder (Seal Press, 2001).
She lives in New York with her husband and son.