Saturn Run

Version: Unabridged
Author: John Sandford , CTEIN
Narrator: Eric Conger
Genres: Science Fiction, Suspense, Action & Adventure
Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
Published In: October 2015
# of Units: 13 CDs
Length: 16 hours, 30 minutes
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

“Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.” --Stephen King

For fans of THE MARTIAN, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 New York Times–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and science fiction aficionado Ctein. 
 
Over the course of thirty-seven books, John Sandford has proven time and again his unmatchable talents for electrifying plots, rich characters, sly wit, and razor-sharp dialogue. Now, in collaboration with Ctein, he proves it all once more, in a stunning new thriller, a story as audacious as it is deeply satisfying.
 
The year is 2066. A Caltech intern inadvertently notices an anomaly from a space telescope—something is approaching Saturn, and decelerating. Space objects don’t decelerate. Spaceships do.
 
A flurry of top-level government meetings produces the inescapable conclusion: Whatever built that ship is at least one hundred years ahead in hard and soft technology, and whoever can get their hands on it exclusively and bring it back will have an advantage so large, no other nation can compete. A conclusion the Chinese definitely agree with when they find out.
 
The race is on, and an remarkable adventure begins—an epic tale of courage, treachery, resourcefulness, secrets, surprises, and astonishing human and technological discovery, as the members of a hastily thrown-together crew find their strength and wits tested against adversaries both of this earth and beyond. What happens is nothing like you expect—and everything you could want from one of the world’s greatest masters of suspense.

Reviews (5)

Sci-Fi

Written by Anonymous on July 19th, 2018

  • Book Rating: 3/5

I love Sanford's books and this is well written. But it is chocked full of space technology and future space travel things. I found it boring even though the characters are likable. Give me some Virgil Flowers.

0

Written by Michael W on December 24th, 2017

  • Book Rating: 4/5

Pretty good if you know what you're getting in to. I can freely say that having a laid back cool protagonist who is secretly good at everything and is beloved by all isn't great writing, but it's fine and I'm still a huge sucker for it. Sandy is great as that role. The first 3/4 of the book probably could be reduced by about half if the story wanted to flow better and get to the actual meat of the story, but I still really liked all the in-depth sci-fi stuff. This is a good book that I enjoyed reading, it doesn't have to be anything more.

Saturn Run

Written by nab6215 from Altoona, PA on May 19th, 2017

  • Book Rating: 5/5

I am so mad. CONTAINS SPOILERS They scuttled the ship and the crew disbanded! This could have been a series. How could you? I cared about these people and now I can\'t know anything about them again? I need more.

Written by John McMurran on March 2nd, 2016

  • Book Rating: 5/5

One of the best books I have read or heard in a long time. I could not put it down. Sanford is still got it! I am a big fan of his other books and also like SiFi. And this is the best kind of SIFI, based on REAL Science. Interesting characters and an exciting plot with many twists. Eric does his normal fantastic job the reading. You do have to be a bit technical aware to follow the tech descriptions but it is not like they are throwing a bunch of math at you. Just the high points. But if you hate science and tech, you won't like it. For the rest of us, GET THIS BOOK!

Written by Mariana Toro on October 27th, 2015

  • Book Rating: 2/5

Too technical for a regular reader. Unless you really like endless tech descriptions, don't read this book

Author Details

Author Details

Sandford, John

John Sandford was born John Camp on February 23, 1944, in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He attended the public schools in Cedar Rapids, graduating from Washington High School in 1962. He then spent four years at the University of Iowa, graduating with a bachelor's degree in American Studies in 1966. In 1966, he married Susan Lee Jones of Cedar Rapids, a fellow student at the University of Iowa. He was in the U.S. Army from 1966-68, worked as a reporter for the Cape Girardeau Southeast Missourian from 1968-1970, and went back to the University of Iowa from 1970-1971, where he received a master's degree in journalism. He was a reporter for The Miami Herald from 1971-78, and then a reporter for the St. Paul Pioneer-Press from 1978-1990; in 1980, he was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize, and he won the Pulitzer in 1986 for a series of stories about a midwestern farm crisis. From 1990 to the present he has written thriller novels. He's also the author of two non-fiction books, one on plastic surgery and one on art. He is the principal financial backer of a major archeological project in the Jordan Valley of Israel, with a website at www.rehov.org In addition to archaeology, he is deeply interested in art (painting) and photography. He both hunts and fishes. He has two children, Roswell and Emily, and one grandson, Benjamin. His wife, Susan, died of metastasized breast cancer in May, 2007, and is greatly missed.