The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette

Version: Abridged
Author: Carolly Erickson
Narrator: Maggie-Meg Reed
Genres: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Audio Renaissance
Published In: September 2005
# of Units: 4 CDs
Length: 5 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

For more than two centuries Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless, frivolous queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. Now, in the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, this moving new novel tells her side of the story.
Imagine that, on the night before she is to die under the blade of the guillotine, Marie Antoinette leaves behind in her prison cell a diary telling the story of her life--from her privileged childhood as Austrian Archduchess to her years as glamorous mistress of Versailles to the heartbreak of imprisonment and humiliation during the French Revolution. Carolly Erickson takes us deep into the psyche of France's doomed queen: her love affair with handsome Swedish diplomat Count Axel Fersen, who risked his life to save her on the terrifying night the Parisian mob broke into her palace bedroom intent on murdering her and her family; her harrowing flight from France in disguise, her recapture and the grim months of harsh captivity; her agony when her beloved husband was guillotined and her beloved son was torn from her arms, never to be seen again.
Erickson brilliantly captures the queen's voice, her hopes, her dreads, her suffering. We follow, mesmerized, as she reveals every detail of her remarkable, eventful life, from her teenage years when she began keeping a diary to her final days when she awaited her own bloody appointment with the guillotine.

Author Details

Author Details

Erickson, Carolly

Prize-winning historian and biographer Carolly Erickson reaches an expanding popular audience worldwide while attaining exceptional critical acclaim. Among her books are "The Medieval Vision; Bloody Mary; Great Harry; The First Elizabeth; Mistress Anne; Our Tempestuous Day: A History of Regency England" (nominated for a Pulitzer Prize in biography); "Bonnie Prince Charlie; To the Scaffold: The Life of Marie Antoinette; (Treat Catherine; Her Little Majesty: A Life of Queen Victoria;" and the forthcoming "Season of the Swan: The Life of Josephine." She lives in Hawaii.