The Ragged Edge of Night

Version: Unabridged
Author: Olivia Hawker
Narrator: Nick Sandys , Olivia Hawker
Genres: Literature, Historical Fiction, Action & Adventure
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Published In: October 2018
# of Units: 9 CDs
Length: 12 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man’s search for light during the darkest times of World War II.
Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage—in name only—to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too—atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war.
As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth’s reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life—even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.

Reviews (1)

0

Written by Tanna G. on May 17th, 2019

  • Book Rating: 5/5

This was a great book. It was engaging and well-written. I definitely recommend the book. I gave the narrator only 3 stars because he started using inconsistent Irish accents for the dialogue of German characters. It was an odd choice. I would prefer no accent instead of inconsistent and inaccurate accents that change throughout the book. The narrator took me out of the story due to his weird choices. But the story was great!

Author Details

Author Details

Hawker, Olivia

Through unexpected characters and vivid prose, Olivia Hawker explores the varied landscape of the human spirit. Olivia's interest in genealogy often informs her writing. Her first two novels from Lake Union Publishing, The Ragged Edge of Night and One for the Blackbird, One for the Crow (2019), are based on true stories found within the author's family tree. She lives in the San Juan Islands of Washington State, where she homesteads at Longlight, a one-acre microfarm dedicated to sustainable permaculture practices.