The Wapshot Chronicle

Version: Unabridged
Author: John Cheever
Narrator: Joe Barrett
Genres: Fiction & Literature, Literature
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Published In: March 2010
# of Units: 10 CDs
Length: 12 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist.
Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly.
Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

Author Details

Author Details

Cheever, John

John Cheever, is the author of seven collections of stories and five novels. In 1965 he received the Howells Medal for Fiction from the National Academy of Arts and Letters, and in 1978 "The Stories of John Cheever" won the National Book Critics Award and the Pulitzer Prize. Shortly before his death in 1982, he was awarded the National Medal for Literature from the Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.