The Wife Upstairs

Version: Unabridged
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Narrator: [No Narrators Added]
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Horror
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Published In: January 2021
# of Units: 8 CDs
Length: 9 hours
Ratings:
Tell Your Friends:

Overview

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” ––EW

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN • Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online • TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! • Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

“A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre on its head…a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” -- EW

Reviews (2)

0

Written by Harlow on January 30th, 2021

  • Book Rating: 4/5

So many twists and turns at the end, your head will spin. I see a sequel in our future.

0

Written by Elizabeth R. on January 26th, 2021

  • Book Rating: 3/5

This book wasn't bad and parts of it did hold my interest but I'd figured out the twist half-way through. Some of the plot (actually quite a bit of it) seemed implausable from a human behaviour and forensics aspect as well. Also, whoever narrated the Eddie part, at times sounded like he was on some major tranquilizers.

Author Details

Author Details

Hawkins, Rachel

Rachel Hawkins is the author of the New York Times bestselling series Hex Hall. She was born in Virginia and raised in Alabama. Rachel taught high school English for 3 years before becoming a full-time writer.